When Africa Did Not Exist

Having spent a whole month trying to be so angry at the whole Kony 2012, I ha convinced myself of my objectivity. I even saw the whole poster on the back of the Applause Africa’s spring issue, and for some reason, I just let it slip by. (although that could be a whole different story).

However, this morning, after my usual online perusal into the Kony 2012 movement, I found myself having the guts to feel that small angry bile at the back of your throat, that makes you generally want to shake someone into comprehension. It took me a while before I really could define where this anger, and frustration was coming from. Let us be clear…Africans and Non-Africans are culpable in this whole fiasco of Kony. But that was not the source of frustration. My mind started going back into history, and looking closely at how policies on Africa have been formatted.  All of a sudden, I nailed it. The anger or let us maturely call it frustration is not on the whole Kony 2012, I is much deeper. It is the whole idea that the rest of the world, and some Africans _especially in the Diaspora_ act like Africa is not relevant, until someone from outside makes it relevant. So for someone whose heart beats in an African rhythm, I took a serious offense to history, and its perpetrators.  Yes, I understand that my frustration does nothing unless something is physically to change the status quo of the above situation, however, there I was ready with violence in mind. ( No worries, I did not do anything). Even though, the words that were forming in my mind were not very generous, nor nice.  I mean, how can a story be so distorted- thats easy. However, in this day and age with easy access to the computer…NO ONE in the west, African or not should be swallowing crap for facts.

But anger was all good, until I read the post by Denaw Mengestu, and went through all the comments by some female that will go by the name of Anna. Apparently, if it was not for the US, then Libya and Egypt would not have happened. ( Although I should probably mention to her that were it nor for the US, Libya and Egypt would not have gotten into the messes).  Oh she actually credits this whole idea of Her idea of military intervention was that since Africans were seating around doing nothing to stop the atrocities in their backyards, then off course AMERICA comes to the rescue, and leaves a mess that they cannot clean up. But again…this is just speculation..no? But she goes on to say that she is tired of AFRICANISM…WHAT DOES THIS MEAN? Africanism, well I guess we are tired of Americanism too. Infact the whole world is tired of this type of -ism!  but don’t worry, for Anna is not done yet- Other than the fact that she cannot spell, she also informs the Africans to tackle the rapes in the Congo. Oh and stop being “Phony” African Intellectuals. As a student, scholar and analyst very much vested in Africa- that hurt. It was like shoving a knife on a wound that was already healing.  But after re-reading the comment by her again, I decided that hers was a joke. Ha! okay, so After laughing a bit, I became pissed. Because here is this human being who thinks that Africa’s hope lies in her power to buy bracelets, wear t-shirts and camp out for a night. Seriously, if I saw her in person, I would probably  laugh because I would find a joke in all this.  If the UN can’t solve it, then the US should move in make sure they secure the resources first, and then shell out a couple of grenades to make sure that people are safe. – Very sweet of her to be so concerned.

So I imagine in her mind, all of the African continent is full of people lounging around. Thats the life you know. Waking up in the morning, taking a walk- wait no- seating down, drinking, eating and having a good old time.  Wait, kids dying in Uganda- ah no problem the US will send in their soldiers, so why worry?  Mugabe is a tyrant? -Ah…leave that to the US..they will take care of that.  There are women in the Congo being raped? Ah… lets us seat here and intellectualize the raping, and then the US will come in and take care of it.  Africa has problems? and to this, I think in Anna’s mind- we seat down and wait for our problems to be taken away like the magic wand that the US is.

Except, Africans on the ground are working hard to change their circumstances. And people with ignorance written all over them- aka- anna prototypes, cheapen the work that is going on.  It seems like the assumption is that Africa came into being when the Europeans came into town. And ever-since, if Europe is not involved in issues that affect Africans, then these problems do not exist.

What is worse is that Africans, we help distort our own stories, and perpetuate the myths that surround us. We let people like Anna define us, and how our stories are told. And maybe if one takes the time to really listen and read the comments that are being made, they would also be just a bit pissed. Maybe then they will start owning their own history. As Africans, we are culpable, but that does not mean that we cannot change the course of the story being told.

Leave a comment

Filed under Africa

Leave a Reply

